Accessibility Advisory Committee


On June 17, 2021 the Accessible British Columbia Act received royal assent. This Act provides a framework to identify, remove, and prevent barriers to accessibility. Under the Act post-secondary institutions in British Columbia were required to establish an accessibility plan, public feedback mechanism, and an accessibility committee by September 1, 2023.

College of the Rockies’ Response

In April 2023, with Paul Vogt as the Executive Sponsor, the College’s Accessibility Advisory Committee, a dedicated body of individual College members with lived and learned experience who aim to promote accessibility and equity at College of the Rockies, was formed. Co-chaired by Ariane Tennant, Executive Director Human Resources and Doris Silva, Director of Student Affairs, the committee includes representatives from the College community with at least half being persons with disabilities or are individuals who support persons with disabilities, and at least one Indigenous person. Appointed (College employees) and volunteer (students) members will serve for a two-year renewable term.

The Advisory Committee

With the guidance, expertise, and recommendations from the College community, the committee’s purpose is to:

  • identify barriers to access and inclusion and develop strategies to prevent, improve, and eliminate them;
  • contribute to the development and ongoing review of the College of the Rockies Accessibility Plan;
  • and develop tools to receive feedback on the Plan and on barriers to access at the College. By actively addressing barriers and challenges faced by people with disabilities, the committee strives to create an environment that is equitable and supportive for all individuals, regardless of their abilities.

Terms of Reference

Accessibility Advisory Committee Terms of Reference

Current Membership

Ariane Tennant – Co-ChairExecutive Director HR
Doris Silva – Co-ChairDirector Student Affairs
Dana WesleyExecutive Director Indigenous Strategy and Reconciliation
Michelle TaylorInvermere Campus Manager
Mary DaviesHuman Resources Advisor
Jennifer CooperFaculty – CYFS
Kelly FykeTeaching and Learning Specialist
Liz HamiltonAccessibility Services Coordinator/Counselling & Wellness
Karin FraserAccessibility Services Coordinator
Darryl DuxCommunications Coordinator
Sue MorinSenior Library Technician
Karla VishloffDigital Marketing Coordinator
Sadie BannickStudent Representative – 2023/24 term
Hunter RhodesStudent Representative – 2023/24 term
Avneet GillStudent Representative – 2023/24 term
Oliver Sacks quote: I wish for a world that views disability, mental or physical, not as a hindrance but as unique attributes that can be seen as powerful assets if given the right opportunities.